Data Loading...

Letchmy bio_Celebrating Women's The Awakened Damsel Flipbook PDF

Letchmy bio_Celebrating Women's The Awakened Damsel




Artist: Letchmy Ganapathy Website: Email: [email protected] Mobile: +65 96868075

I am an accidental artist who started exploring painting purely as a hobby. It has since evolved into my passion! Painting since 2012, my works reflect the beliefs that have shaped me as a person - spirituality, feminism, love, hope and nature. As a self-taught artist, I have no rules to observe. I revel in the freedom I feel when creating; and play with the colours that call out to me. Women and Ganesha were my initial experiments on canvas and they have developed naturally into themes. The ‘Musical Ganesha’ series is inspired by my childhood adulation for the Hindu God and my teenage dreams of becoming a musician. The 'Celebrating Women' series is very close to my heart and will continue to be so. It is my way of paying tribute to the strength and resilience embodied by every woman I’ve known and the other countless women who continue to assert themselves every day, at many levels. I love to travel, especially long treks to remote places – whether to feel the peace amongst nature or the charm of ruins. Many of my travel photos have become impressions on canvas – the tranquillity of the setting sun, the rusticity of an ancient temple bell, the intricacy of an antique door…. And hope to be able to translate many more into my paintings. As a Singaporean, I do my bit by participating in events or exhibitions for a cause; donating a portion of all sales to chosen charities.

Thank you for appreciating my art!

The Awakened Damsel She has finally found her identity, her self-pride. She is confident and has a vision. Her eyes look afar, representing hope and countless opportunities.

She belongs to my ‘Celebrating Women' series, dedicated to the strength and resilience that I’ve seen embodied in innumerable women. The initial paintings in the series represent women who have their eyes shut, not sure of how to express what they feel within. The women in the series evolve as they become aware of their beauty and strength, and as they begin to question social norms.

Paintings in the Series:

The Demure Bride

The Evolving Mother

The Beholder’s Pride

The First Awakening

The Passive Beauty